About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2014 Ben Jobe Award

April 4, 2014


DALLAS, TX -- Texas A&M Corpus Christi's Willis Wilson in the recipient of the 2014 Ben Jobe award.
Wilson led A&M-Corpus Christi to 18 wins and a second-place finish in the Southland this year. The Islanders finished with 12 more wins in 2013-14 than it did the previous season, the third biggest turnaround in the nation this year. Only Milwaukee and Old Dominion (both plus-13) posted more improvement than the Islanders.
In addition The Islanders had the biggest turnaround in the nation within their same conference this year, posting nine more victories in Southland play than the previous season. The Islanders were 5-13 in league play in 2012-13 before posting a 14-4 mark in the conference this year. Utah Valley posted 10 more victories in league play this season, but went from playing eight games (3-5) in the Great West in 2012-13 to 16 (13-3) in the Western Athletic Conference.
The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. Coach Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He has also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.


Tommy Amaker Harvard
Roman Banks Southern University
Johnny Dawkins Stanford
Ron Hunter Georgia State
James Jones Yale
Joe Jones Boston University
Mike Jones Radford
Danny Manning Tulsa
Cuonzo Martin Tennessee
Rob Murphy Eastern Michigan
LeVelle Moton North Carolina Central
Kevin Ollie Connecticut
Monte Ross Delaware
Gary Waters Cleveland State
Willis Wilson Texas A&M Corpus Christi


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.