About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2015 Ben Jobe Award

Maryland Eastern Shore's Bobby Collins accepts the 2015 Ben Jobe award at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 3, 2015


INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- Maryland Eastern Shore's Bobby Collins is the recipient of the 2015 Ben Jobe award. 
The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. 

Coach Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He has also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.
His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

Tommy Amaker Harvard
Kevin Baggett Rider
Bobby Collins UMES
Ed Cooley Providence
Mike Davis Texas Southern
Frank Haith Tulsa
Ron Hunter Georgia State
James Jones Yale
Robert Jones Norfolk State
Kevin Keatts UNC Wilmington
Marvin Menzies New Mexico State
LeVelle Moton North Carolina Central
King Rice Monmouth
John Thompson III Georgetown
Gary Waters Cleveland State
Willis Wilson Texas A&M Corpus Christi


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.