About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Ben Jobe Award

Maryland Eastern Shore's Bobby Collins accepts the 2015 Ben Jobe award at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX  -- Tennessee State's Dana Ford is the recipient of the 2016 Ben Jobe award.

Ford led the Tigers to one of the biggest turnarounds in NCAA history, going from 5-26 in 2014-15 to 20-11 in 2015-16. It was just the third 20-win season at the Division I level. The Tigers also made their first postseason appearance since 2012.  

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. An icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Jobe is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons.
His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.


Roman Banks, Southern
Rod Barnes, CSU Bakersfield
Wayne Brent, Jackson State
Ed Cooley, Providence
Mike Davis, Texas Southern
Dana Ford, Tennessee State
Murray Garvin, South Carolina State
Avery Johnson, Alabama
James Jones, Yale
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Edward Joyner, Jr. Hampton
Kevin Keatts, UNCW
Bashir Mason, Wagner
Mark Montgomery, Northern Illinois
King Rice, Monmouth
Montez Robinson, Alcorn State
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Shaka Smart, Texas
Tubby Smith, Texas Tech
Rodney Terry, Fresno State
Willis Wilson, Texas A&M Corpus Christi


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.